Indulging with five:am’s organic granola

I’m a big fan of breakfast. That’s no secret. I’ve also become aware that I haven’t been eating as organic as I should. This just happened to be timed nicely with five:am touching base with me about their new organic granolas.

They have launched two organic European style granolas, which are all crunch and flavour. The two flavours are Honey + Cinnamon Granola, and the Apple Crumble Granola.

layout

I’ve made a seriously decadent breakfast parfait with a marriage of five:am and The Whole Pantry App. I’m warning you, it’s sweet, rich, and addictive. The chocolate mousse in this recipe is the Express Chocolate Mousse from Belle Gibson’s The Whole Pantry App, which you can download onto your phone.

I’m using the honey and cinnamon granola. This particular flavour is made up of organic wholegrain rolled oats, lightly roasted organic almonds, organic puffed spelt, chia seeds, organic sugar, and organic honey.

teatowl

Chocolate Mousse Granola Parfait.

Serves one very very hungry person

Ingredients

¾ cup or five:am Honey + Cinnamon Granola

100g five:am natural yoghurt

Big handful of raspberries

2 large ripe bananas

½ ripe avocado

30 gms raw cacao powder

½ teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 tbsp maple syrup

½ teaspoon of water

Method

In a food processor place the bananas, avocado, cacao, cinnamon, maple syrup, and water. Blend until smooth. Divide into two, and keep the second half for a later date*.

Get a jar and place half of the granola at the bottom, top with half the yoghurt, top that with half of the mousse (a quarter of the whole recipe, remember to keep the second half for another time), then top with half the berries. Repeat the layering until you’ve used all your granola, yoghurt, berries, and mousse. You can serve this in a bowl, but that wouldn’t look as trendy on instagram, right?

jar

These granolas are truly delicious. With quite a high refined sugar content however, I do try to limit how much I eat them. Otherwise I would seriously just eat it as a snack all day long.

*NB: I used the second half of this mousse as another breakfast. This time I went for a more virtuous option and topped with Blend.Co and berries. It’s decadent, but 100% healthy, so an any day breakfast in my book.

Wake up, be amazing. That’s five:am’s motto, and I think it’s a pretty good one.

Until next time friends.

Leave a Reply

