Coffee and Cocktails with Lavazza’s A Modo Mio

Coffee. Beautiful coffee. It’s a daily necessity for most of us. At home, at a café, with friends, with a book, it can be enjoyed so many delicious ways.

IMG_4132

After my coffee machine didn’t survive the move to my new house, I was very lucky to receive an invitation to the Melbourne Coffee Expo from Lavazza and Undertow Media. We all went along to a lesson on their A Modo Mio machines, taste some of the blends, munch on Movida Bakery donuts and explore the expo. After the show, we were very spoilt and all got to take one of the machines home with us.

IMG_4153

This pocket sized, pod driven machine makes morning coffee very easy. Pick a pod, put it in, and press a button. In our house, we like the Divinamente blend – velvety with hints of chocolate, and the Magicamente blend – an aromatic and fragrant blend. It doesn’t hurt that they are the shiny blue and pink pods, but I promise we chose on blend not colour.

IMG_4141

The person who invited me along to this event knows me well. She suggested coffee cocktails made at home once my new coffee machine arrived. What can I say? This idea was genius. So. In the spirit of bringing two of my favourite things together, coffee and cocktails, I present to you an easy recipe to make at home. Now an espresso martini would be the obvious choice, but I happened to have a brand new bottle of Tromba Blanco tequila in the house so I decided to make an Espresso Martini with a Mexican twist.

Tromba

Ingredients

50ml Tromba Blanco Tequila
25ml Kaluha
25ml or one shot of Lavazza espresso
1 tsp agave syrup
3 coffee beans, for garnish

Method

Place the vodka, Kaluha, agave syrup and fresh coffee in a cocktail shaker with a handful of ice and shake hard.

Strain into a martini glass and garnish with three coffee beans.

It’s as simple as that folks.

Thanks again to Lavazza and Undertow Media.

1 Comment on Coffee and Cocktails with Lavazza’s A Modo Mio

  1. GENIUS! PURE GENIUS! I know what I’m going to do with that coffee machine when I borrow it off Mr LB!!!

Leave a Reply

