My Favourite… @ South Melbourne Market, South Melbourne

Sign_SMM

Working in South Melbourne, it’s easy to forget how lucky I am to have South Melbourne market a stone’s throw from the office.   As you come to know the market, you realise there is a lot more to it than the rather famous dim sims – and don’t tell anyone, but I haven’t even tried said dim sim.

Let me tell you a little bit about a lunchtime trip to my favourite market. One of my must visit stops is Clement Coffee, the gorgeous little wooden stall, just big enough to order your coffee and run.  They also serve up little sweet treats to take away.

Clement_SMM

When it comes to the food, the gozleme from Koy Restaurant is a pretty tasty lunchtime option. Grilled Turkish dough filled with cheese and spinach, I mean what’s wrong with that.

Koy_SMM

Among the plethora of other food stalls, Simply Spanish the Spanish pop up stall makes a mean paella out of beautiful large paella pans.

If a make your own adventure lunch takes your fancy, there are, like all markets, produce stalls for miles. Cheeses, meats, sweets, preserves, oils and the occasional clothes stall thrown in for good measure.

Cheese_SMM

But to be honest, at the end of the day, it is the fresh produce that keeps me coming back every time. After a trip to the market, my favourite thing to do is go back to the office, toast up some Brasserie Bread (also in South Melbourne) Soy and Quinoa loaf and spread it thick with avocado and a squeeze of lemon juice. Sometimes simplicity really is best.

Avocados_SMM

Thanks for joining me on my lunchtime trip to the market. Until next time.

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. My Favourite: Amy Collins from Amy's TownMarkets of Melbourne

Leave a Reply

