Girly dinner @ D.O.C Pizza and Mozzarella Bar, Carlton

It was Thursday night and I had a bottle of Pino Gris in hand. I was ready for a BYO girly dinner. The venue of choice for the evening: D.O.C Pizza Mozzarella Bar in Carlton.

I was the last to arrive and after meeting the girls outside, we headed in to find a table. It was packed! For a moment I was a bit worried we wouldn’t get a seat. Thankfully there was a table spare, and we nestled in. After opening a bottle of wine the chatting started!

In the busy venue, and our inability to decide what to order was starting to frustrate the wait staff. After about probably 15 minutes our waiter came over and said “girls, let me hassle you to order or you won’t be eating tonight!”. While he said it with a smile, not to offend, the vibe of the restaurant is clearly a fast one!

We all decided on a pizza. I decided on the Pizza San Daniele, which was San Marzano tomato, D.O.P buffalo mozzarella and D.O.P. San Daniele Prosciutto. The others ordered a ‘Pizza Tiger Prawn (prawns, tomato, mozzarella, endive and fresh chilli) and a ‘Pizza ai Porcini’ (wild mushroom, truffle oil and mozzaralla in bianco). Thinking it might all be very rich and cheesy we also ordered a salad of mixed leaves and balsamic dressing to share. I note here that there are no alterations available. I got the feeling, they see their way of making pizza the right way to make pizza!

While pizza is pretty much the only main on the menu, there are a range of antipasto options and a whole section dedicated to mozzarella and a range of accompaniments. Pizza’s range from $15-$22 depending on toppings.

By this time there was almost a line out the door, eager pizza lovers were hovering outside and on spare bar stools casually drinking beers and chatting, awaiting a table.

The pizza finally arrived and it smelled amazing!

My pizza was delicious! The crisp base was topped generously with mozzarella and prosciutto, and then each piece was topped with fresh white buffalo mozzarella which was flaky and beautiful. While it was not the most flavoursome pizza I have ever had, each ingredient was lovely.

We were right in ordering a salad; the mix of the tart balsamic vinegar and the peppery lettuce was the perfect side to cut through the rich pizzas.

While I didn’t try the other two pizzas, I could smell the freshness of the prawns and was informed that both were delicious.

It did take us a while to make our way through the large pizza’s, yet once we had ordered no one seemed to mind how long we took!

Finally there was one amusing happenings I feel I need to share…On a visit to the bathroom I heard a number of young girls arguing in the next cubicle. I came out and asked if they were ok…This little girl, aged about 8 looked up at me and said “What’s your name?” as I told her her friend looked at me and said, with a hand movement only Beyonce could have replicated “She is the owners daughter you know?!”. “Wow” I responded, “That’s awesome”. Realising they were quite capable to take care of themselves I went to leave, the young owner turned to me and said “Enjoy your meal”…little business woman in the making!

D.O.C Pizza and Mozzarella bar is vibrant, loud, busy and fun. They serve reliably good pizza with beautiful produce. The line out the door is evidence of that!

A great place for a casual night out with friends.

For more information:

D.O.C. Pizza and Mozzarella bar

295 Drummond St

Carton, 3053

(03) 9347 2998

www.docgroup.net

Leave a Reply

