First and sadly the last pizza @ Bande a Part, Nicholson Street, Carlton North

Living on Nicholson street, I have walked/driven/trammed past Bande a Part countless times. I have also heard endless praise for this little pizza bar. While it has always been on my list of ‘must visit’ restaurants, it wasn’t until I heard the sad news that they were closing that I managed to get down there.

So, hearing that they were becoming crazy busy before their final day on July 14th, I called and made a booking.

We settled into our little wooden both and ordered some drinks. The venue is very cute. There is a small dinning area near the kitchen then a row of old booths lining the bar. There are also a few tables outside for the warmer months.

The menu does offer a few pasta dishes, but I felt the pizza was the reason to come.

I ordered the Buffalo Soldier, which was tomato, buffalo mozzarella, prosciutto and basil a top a thin crispy base.  My boyfriend ordered the mushroom pizza, which was mushroom, tomato, cheese, garlic and parsley.

These pizza’s really were as good as people say. The base, was the best base I’ve ever eaten. It was light and crisp and tasty. It didn’t go soggy at all, and gave the meal a lightness that pizza often lacks. To top it off, there was a perfect amount of toppings to complement the delicious bases. Both pizza’s were lovely, with the fresh parsley on the mushroom pizza adding a nice freshness.

The service was relaxed, confident and friendly.

I can’t decide whether going just a week before they close was a good idea or not…now I’m going to miss these delicious pizzas when they are gone!

Having said that, if you’re a pizza fan and have time in the next three days…go!!

For more information:

Bande A Part Pizza Bar

749 Nicholson Street, Carlton North

(03) 9388 8950

http://www.bandeapartpizzabar.com.au/

 

 

1 Comment on First and sadly the last pizza @ Bande a Part, Nicholson Street, Carlton North

  1. Oh, I hadn’t heard they were closing down! We’ve had a couple of really nice meals there.

Leave a Reply

