Japanese Marinated Char-Grilled Salmon on Soba Noodles @ My Humble Kitchen

A huge fan of Japanese flavours I couldn’t go past a char grilled Japanese chicken recipe that I found a little while ago. However I think it took me about two years to get around to making it!!

When I did get around to making it I couldn’t help but change it around, adding my favorite vegetables etc.  Yet it wasn’t until I decided to make it for my sister who doesn’t eat meat that I found the winner…

Japanese Marinated Char-Grilled Salmon on Soba Noodles

Ingredients….(Serves 4)

  • 2 tablespoons peanut oil
  • 1/4 cup mirin (Japanese rice wine vinegar)
  • 1/4 cup salt-reduced soy sauce
  • 2cm piece ginger, finely grated
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 4 (150g) salmon steaks with skin on
  • 180g soba noodles
  • 2 bunches of Broccolini, chopped
  • 2 red capsicums, chopped

Combine the oil, mirin, soy, ginger and garlic in a bowl and breathe in the heavenly scents…THIS is where the recipe gets its magic!

Cover the salmon with one quarter of the sauce (not the whole thing like I did the first time) and put in the fridge for as long as you can be bothered leaving it there. The time it takes to prep everything else works perfectly fine.

Boil a pot of water on the stove and cook the soba noodles according to their packet instructions. This should be about 4 minutes. Then transfer them to cold water to stop them cooking. Soggy soba noodles are not ideal.

Meanwhile heat a wok or pan, which ever is easiest for you and cook the vegetables in a little oil to your liking. I always prefer mine on the crunchier side, but that’s just personal preference.

Now…to the headlining act of this dish, the salmon!

Heat a grill on high and place the sauce covered salmon skin side down and wait for the sizzle! Cook here until the salmon is nice and black and crisp…don’t worry it does look burnt. Its not I promise. Turn the salmon when it’s starting to turn light past the skin. Cook on the other side until pink all the way up the sides.

To serve the noodles, run some hot water over them to re heat them and divide them between four plates. Top with vegetables and watch them tumble down the noodle mountain. Then place the deliciously blackened salmon on top. The final touch is the left over sauce…drizzle over the salmon and noodles.

Serve and enjoy…I promise you will!

The salmon is so tender and soft on the inside while the black crisp outside really holds a lot of flavour and kick. Its sweet and salty and all things delicious! The noodles circled around crisp vegetables are simply the perfect backdrop and every now and then if your lucky you will get bursts of fresh ginger…

Don’t be surprised if you’re licking the plate…

1 Comment on Japanese Marinated Char-Grilled Salmon on Soba Noodles @ My Humble Kitchen

  1. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your great
    post. Also, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks!

Leave a comment