Boozy late night dinner @ Shanghai Dumpling, China Town, Melbourne

When a girlfriend of mine suggested a girl’s night out starting with BYO and dumplings at Shanghai Dumpling, I had a feeling the night was going to be a good one. Being gluten free for the last two years I had missed out on most that this place had to offer and was excited to try it all.

Running a little late, and getting off the tram at the wrong stop I lost my bearings a little and ended up slightly lost in Chinatown. On a Saturday night at 7 45 it was literally sensory overload. People were everywhere, walking in front of the one-way traffic running into each other left right and centre. The chaos only continued when I finally found Tattersall’s lane and headed to my desired destination. When I reached the queue (that’s right people literally line up for this place) I quickly ducked past the man in charge, as I knew my friends had already secured a table upstairs.

Finally I reached my table, already filled with dumplings, bottles of wine and plastic camping cups. I was greeted with a “We had to order otherwise they wouldn’t let us stay here”…with a $12 all you can eat menu, I wasn’t concerned. I asked what we were having and got a lot of umm’s, not sure’s and these ones are really good! So I decided to go head first into my first all you can eat dumpling experience.

The dumplings really are the main attraction here. They are delicious, morish and literally endless! They included Fried beef dumplings, fried port dumplings, steamed spinach dumplings, steamed pumpkin dumplings, steamed pork dumplings, steamed prawn and spinach, sweet fried dumplings and my personal favorite the seared mushroom dumplings. There was an array of sauces, without labels in sauce bottles around the table, which were an excellent addition to all varieties of dumplings.

The all you can eat banquet includes more than just dumplings, you also get fried rice, spring rolls, noodles and the most amazing Asian greens I’ve ever eaten. They were doused in oyster sauce and oil and were delicious!

To make the point clear…it is literally all you can eat for just $12 dollars. The waiters come around every now and then with a simple question of “More food?”.

Of course you can order off the menu here with 10 packs of the mushroom and spinach dumplings setting you back $6.80 and 15 pork dumplings coming to a grand total of $5.80.

I don’t recommend this place if your looking for class, or fine dinning, but if your looking for cheap, fun, yummy dumplings and don’t really mind which one you eat next, I recommend this place as the start to a good night on the town.

For more information:

Camy Shanghai Dumpling
(03) 9663 8555

23 Tattersalls Ln
Melbourne, 3000

2 Comments on Boozy late night dinner @ Shanghai Dumpling, China Town, Melbourne

  1. Hi i am gluten free- are the dumplings gf?
    Regards
    Leigh

    • Hi Leigh,

      Thanks for reading! No unfortunately they are not.

      I have been there when I was gluten-free and they can do a number of their rice dishes and vegetable dishes GF, but sadly no dumplings.

      Hope that helps

      Amy x

Leave a Reply

